NEW JERSEY COMMISSION ON SCIENCE, INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY

September 16, 2022

This meeting was held in-person and via Microsoft Teams teleconference.

MINUTES OF THE MEETING

Members of the Commission present: Public Voting Members: Debbie Hart, BioNJ, Chair; David Pascrell, Gibbons, Treasurer, and; Ex-Officio Voting Member: Kathleen Coviello for Tim Sullivan, CEO of the New Jersey Economic Development Authority.

Members of the Commission present via conference call: Public Voting Members: Charlene Brown, AT&T, Retired; Cuneyt Erdogan, Clarus Engineering; Ex-Officio Voting Members: Kathleen Comanto for Dr. Brian Bridges, Secretary of Higher Education; Ms. Kim Walker for Dr. Angelica McMillan, Acting Commissioner, DOE, and Non-Voting Legislative Member, Senator Robert Singer.

Members of the Commission absent: Public Voting Members Adam Sternbach, Dr. Alain Kornhauser, Princeton University; Dr. Joel Bloom, President, NJIT; Non-Voting Legislative Members Senator Paul Sarlo, Assemblyman Christopher DePhillips, Assemblyman Christopher Tully; Non-Voting University Members: Dr. Nariman Farvardin, President, Stevens Institute of Technology; and Dr. Jonathan Holloway, President, Rutgers University.

Also present: Greg Townsend for Stevens Institute of Technology, Vince Smeraglia, Rutgers University; Dana Walters, Assemblyman Tully's Office; Judith Sheft, Executive Director, CSIT; Elizabeth Kern, Deputy Attorney General; Jamera Sirmans, Governor's Authorities Unit; EDA Staff: Danielle Esser, Director; Mahako Etta, CSIT Program Manager; Frances Keel, CSIT Program Officer; Hector Serrano, Governance Officer; and Muneerah Sanders, Board Liaison.

Per the Chair's request, Muneerah Sanders read the Open Public Meetings announcement and performed the roll call of the Commission.

Prior to commencing the meeting, Chair Hart asked Ms. Esser to read aloud a statement regarding the process for public comment at the board meeting for any members of the public on the call. No members of the public presented themselves at this time.

PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES

The first item was the approval of the July 15, 2022, meeting minutes.

MOTION TO APPROVE: Ms. Coviello SECOND: Ms. Brown AYES: 7

FOR INFORMATION ONLY: The next item was the presentation of the Chair's Report to the Commission.

FOR INFORMATION ONLY: The next item was the presentation of the Executive Director's Report to the Commission.

Ms. Etta presented the next item before the Board:

Item: Approval of Additional Catalyst Seed Grant Awardee

Request: To approve one (1) additional Catalyst Seed grant for a total of \$75,000.

MOTION TO APPROVE: Ms. Coviello SECOND: Ms. Brown AYES: 7

RESOLUTION ATTACHED AND MARKED EXHIBIT: 1

Ms. Keel presented the next item before the Board:

Item: Approval of Round 4 NJ SBIR/STTR Direct Financial Assistance Program (Direct Funding and

Bridge Grants)

Request: To approve the launch of the \$1,000,000 Round 4 of the NJ SBIR/STTR Direct Financial

Assistance Grant Program.

MOTION TO APPROVE: Ms. Coviello SECOND: Mr. Pascrell AYES: 7

RESOLUTION ATTACHED AND MARKED EXHIBIT: 2

Ms. Etta provided an update on the Catalyst R&D Voucher Program Delegated Authority Approvals as of September 2022.

Ms. Etta provided an update on the Round 2 Clean Tech R&D Voucher Program Delegated Authority approvals as of September 2022.

PRESENTATION:

Economic Impact Assessment of CSIT SBIR/STTR Direct Financial Assistance Program Michael Ehrlich, PhD., NJIT Associate Professor of Finance, Martin Tuchman School of Management

Dr. Ehrlich provided an assessment of the CSIT SBIR/STTR Direct Financial Assistance Program's economic impact on the innovation economy.

PUBLIC COMMENT:

There was no public comment.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business, on a motion by Ms. Brown, and seconded by Mr. Erdogan, the meeting was adjourned at 11:25 AM.

NEXT MEETING DATE:

The next meeting date for the Commission on Science, Innovation and Technology is scheduled for November 4, 2022, at 10:00 am, in person and virtually.

CERTIFICATION:

The foregoing and attachments represent a true and complete summary of the actions taken by the Commission on Science, Innovation, and Technology at its Meeting on September 16, 2022.

Judith Sheft, Executive Director Secretary

Judit L Sty